The concepts underlying what is known as “Industry 4.0” are generating paradigm shifts and require us to identify new ways of creating value within and between interdependent companies in a logic of community of interest and value networks.

The MicroLean Lab offers stakeholders in Switzerland’s highly industrialised areas the opportunity to explore the changes brought by digitalisation within an industry that is characterised by specific know-how and by products that are recognised for their excellence, quality, precision and reliability.

The MicroLean Lab also aims at taking into account the new societal trend for responsible energy consumption and efficient production in an ecological and economical logic.

The MicroLean Lab’s objective is to give industrial stakeholders facing common challenges a shared understanding of new opportunities for creating products and services. The Lab will use direct experimentation to identify the core technologies that seemthe most relevant to invest in.

The particular configuration of the Swiss industrial landscape, which is mainly made up of small and medium-sized enterprises, is pleading for such community research on topics that fall outside the expertise of each individual company but become inevitable.

A school project

The MicroLean Lab experimentation platform is aimed, first, at all Swiss companies, but also at the students of the Haute Ecole Arc Ingénierie, who are their next generation.

In parallel with the MicroLean Lab’s own activities, led by senior engineers and research professors, undergraduate students will have the chance to take part in projects that match their development needs.

In addition, the involvement of research assistants and young graduate engineers in the scientific and technical developments of the MicroLean Lab means that partner companies can dip into a talent pool for optimal technology transfer.

Les notions contenues sous l’appellation « Industrie 4.0 » provoquent des changements de paradigmes et nécessitent l’identification des leviers de création de valeurs au sein d’entreprises interdépendantes dans une logique de communauté d’intérêts et de réseaux de valeurs.

Le MicroLean Lab propose aux acteurs des territoires hautement industriels de Suisse d’expérimenter les changements induits par la digitalisation dans une industrie marquée par des savoir-faire spécifiques et reconnue pour ses produits synonymes d’excellence, de qualité, de précision et de fiabilité.

Le MicroLean Lab a également l’ambition de prendre en compte les nouvelles tendances sociétales d’une consommation responsable et d’une production efficiente dans une logique écologico-économique.

Le MicroLean Lab a comme objectif de proposer aux acteurs industriels confrontés à des défis communs une compréhension partagée des nouvelles opportunités de création de produits et de services, en expérimentant concrètement les briques technologiques dans lesquelles il apparaît le plus pertinent d’investir.

La configuration particulière du tissu industriel suisse, majoritairement constitué de petites et moyennes entreprises, plaide pour cette recherche communautaire, en particulier dans les thématiques qui ne touchent pas aux savoir-faire propres de chaque entreprise mais qui deviennent incontournables.

Un projet d’école

La plateforme d’expérimentation MicroLean Lab s’adresse en priorité à toutes entreprises suisses, mais aussi aux étudiants de la Haute Ecole Arc Ingénierie qui sont leur relève.

En parallèle des activités propres du MicroLean Lab, conduites par des ingénieurs seniors et des enseignants-chercheurs, des projets d’étudiants sont menés dans les filières de formation Bachelor, en cohérence avec les besoins de développement.

De plus, l’implication dans les développements scientifico-techniques d’assistants de recherche, de jeunes ingénieurs diplômés, offre aux entreprises partenaires du MicroLean Lab une pépinière de talents pour un transfert technologique optimal.